Scarves and Ties, oh my!

I love scarves! Being allergic to wool it can sometimes be a challenge to find just the right thing for an outfit, so I am always on the lookout, and often I make my own accessories or re-style or revamp an already made item.

This chiffon scarf was a gift with purchase that came from Godiva. How could you go wrong with yummy to die for Chocolate and Purple! I added satin rosettes and posies from my book.

This is a scarf that is entirely made from Hanah Silk bias ribbon. Several different widths were used, and stitched together on the sewing machine. The ruffled roses are also made from silk bias ribbon.

This is a scarf that I knit, from yarn that was made from silk sari borders. It has a lively color combination, lots of colors and fun nubby sections. I made folded edge rosettes from hand-dyed silk velvet ribbon. The centers of the flowers are abalone shell buttons.

This scarf was purchased a few years ago at Cost Plus. It is incredibly detailed with rickrack ribbon stitched into flowers, sequins, and beads! To top it off I made another flower from my book, made from a ribbon that came off a box of Godiva chocolates.

This was a cotton tie that I found at a thrift store several years ago, my guy used to wear it all the time. I thought that it was a perfect garden setting for some of the flowers from my book. I used a great leaf trim for the base, then flowers made from satin, double sided satin, novelty and kimono ribbons. I topped off the embellishments with novelty lady bug and dragonfly buttons; and threw in a few vintage rhinestone buttons.

Enjoy~ Chisten

2 thoughts on “Scarves and Ties, oh my!

Leave a Reply

