Magical Masks and Wands

I have made several masks and wands to be used as accessories to my wearable art garments, here are a few:

Moonlit Sea was made for a vest called Chandos Summer Storm. The base is pieced from left over fabrics that were used on the vest. The mask is embellished with shisha mirrors, beads, charms, old earrings, carved bone and shell pieces and ribbon.

Madame Butterfly mask was made for my Madame Butterfly jacket. The base is pieced and machine stitched with metallic threads. It is embellished with with fabric yo-yos, shisha mirrors, beads, charms, old earrings, carved bone and shell pieces and ribbon. The base is a piece of drift wood that I spray painted.

Kalahari Spirit Dancer was made for an ensemble with the same name. I pieced fabric onto cardboard, then glued shisha mirrors and strands of glue to cover the raw edges. I applied gold leaf to the glue just as it was drying. I have added all sorts of charms and talismans, and given the piece it’s own spirit.

Polgara’s Mask was made with an old root that I found, that resembled a mask. I added in another piece of wood for the handle. I added in a vintage pheasant feather piece that was attached to an old hat. The piece also has ribbonwork flowers, vintage millinery glass pods, velvet ribbon, a tassel and a jade leaf complete the piece.
White Shell Woman was made for one of my first wearable garments. The base is a piece of driftwood that I sanded and sprayed with shellac. Bits of gathered pieces from nature include coral spines, dried pods, shells, and driftwood. Beads, bells and ribbon complete the design.

Enjoy~ Christen

Leave a Reply

