New Classes for Spring at Joggles

Here are the Classes that I will be teaching this Spring session at Joggles.com.

*New Class* Magic Web with Christen Brown $25.00

May 17- 24, 2011

machine stitched lace

This is a great technique project; I call it Metallic Threads 101, but it doesn’t stop there. In class you will make a “magic web” from bits of precious scraps, decorative yarns and metallic threads, sandwiched together with Solvy and machine stitching, lots of machine stitching. The unique fabric that you create will be used as a base for a heart shaped brooch that will be embellished with buttons and beads.

Ocean Rivers with Christen Brown $45.00

May 31- June 21, 2011

free form peyote stitched bracelet

This class will teach you a little bit about the freedom of expression the “free form peyote stitch” can bring to your technical repertoire. The launching point of your bracelet and your creative explosion will start with a simple grosgrain ribbon, a small collection of buttons, a variety of seed beads in several sizes and colors combined with a few small treasures. Bring your imagination and creative spirit…

*New Class* A Crazy Lady’s Guide To Piecing with Christen Brown $35.00

June 3- June 17, 2011

crazy piecing

Crazy piecing is definitely an accurate description for piecing disparate and awkward bits of this and that together. It can be confusing and confounding when you first start, in fact that is the first question people usually ask, how do I start? Questions that usually follow are what do I put where, what fabric do I use, what color should go next to what, and how on earth do I get myself out of that boxed in mess I created?

The class will cover three different basic CQ (Crazy Quilt) piecing techniques that I use to stitch a base for a garment, quilt, pillow or wall hanging. Each base is assembled machine stitched directly onto a square of muslin as you piece and stitch. I will share with you my experience and my solutions to all of the above questions and more. I will give you ideas on how to choose your fabric, color scheme and how to stitch your base depending on the size of the scraps, strips, and bits of fabric that you have. I will also give you several ideas that I have used to get myself out of those boxed in messes!

*New Class* Garden at Versailles with Christen Brown $25.00

July 1- July 8, 2011

beaded bracelet

Buttons, beads, charms and more adorn this bracelet made for a queen. The two main components are the base, which can be a plain or patterned ribbon; and the buttons, which can be new or vintage, glass, plastic or metal. The rest is all about beads, glass charms and your imagination.

Corsages to Dye For I with Christen Brown $35.00

July 5- July 19, 2011

hand dyed ribbonworked flowers

Do you find yourself wishing “if only I had a ribbon that was this color or that”, or “why didn’t it come in my favorite colors”? If your answer is YES, then let me invite you to take a colorful journey into the realm of dyeing your own RTD (ready to dye) silk ribbons. I will teach you how to prepare your ribbons then dye them to create one of a kind, creative and colorful ribbons. These ribbons will then be turned into magical works of floral art for your own “corsages to dye for”!

*New Class* Tandletons with Christen Brown $25.00

July 22- July 29, 2011

embroidered buttons

Tandletons=Tatted/needle lace/buttons.

These little threaded works of art are just so much fun to make. I start with a base made from 1″ silk bias ribbon, stuffed with Polyfil. Your Tandeltons will finish at about 1″. All of the stitches are created with a milliner’s needle, cotton and silk threads, silk embroidery ribbon or beads. The techniques that will be covered in class are Traditional Embroidery, Tatted stitches, Needle lace, Beaded Stitches, and Silk Ribbon Embroidery stitches.

Corsages to Dye for II with Christen Brown $35.00

August 2- August 16, 2011

hand-dyed ribbon work flowers

Do you find yourself wishing “if only I had a ribbon that was this color or that”, or “why didn’t it come in my favorite colors”? If your answer is YES, then let me invite you to take a colorful journey into the realm of dyeing your own RTD (ready to dye) silk ribbons. I will teach you how to prepare your ribbons then dye them to create one of a kind, creative and colorful ribbons. These ribbons will then be turned into magical works of floral art for your own “corsages to dye for”!

*New Class* Beautiful Beaded Blooms with Christen Brown $30.00

August 12- August 19, 2011

french wire beaded flowers

French beaded flowers found their beginnings from European peasant folk art. Beaded flowers were also popular in Italy, where many of the beads were made. Eventually beaded flowers found their way to England, and were very popular in the Victorian era. Throughout history this technique has been popular and has been used to adorn the home.

In this class you will learn how to transform your beads into elegant and beautiful blooms. You will learn how to make several different flowers and leaves that you can turn into a corsage, a garland, or simply create blooms to rest in a special vase. The flowers that you make will average between 3/4″ to 1-1/2″ wide; all of these will use size 11 seed beads. Additional beads will be used to create centers and other elements.

I hope that you find something to spark your creative spirit.
In the meantime, Happy Stitching! Christen

2 thoughts on “New Classes for Spring at Joggles

  1. Christian, I’m just amazed at your expertise in needle crafting. I’ve checked out several of your blogs and would love to take a class with you. Where are you located? A quick check and I didn’t find your location?

    • Thank you so much Cheryl, I live in San Diego, CA. I do teach on line for Joggles, which is a great way to meet people from all over the world!

Leave a Reply

