Tea on Tuesday, last one of the year…..

tea cup on the mantleTea today is with the Earl, I always need a bit of a jolt, especially this time of year when it is colder. I got a moment to decorate, way later than I had hoped, but I did get a few trees and decorations up for the holidays. This is half of the mantle which is dedicated to snowmen and Santa this year.

Speaking of the holidays, the day was lovely and crisp, the usual suspects behaved both naughty and nice, and Kevin and Gwen and I are just glad that we don’t have to do that again for another year! We enjoy our time together immensely, but when you group several families together there is always trouble, and this year was true to form.

My friend Phred said that he was going to call me to see how things had gone, but wasn’t sure if he should call our home, or the County Lock-up, just in case I had murdered someone. Not this year, thankfully!

I did get a lovely belated gift in the mail yesterday, which has wiped out most of the holiday un-cheer, for this year!

The story that I wrote about Butch our cat is out in the current issue of Threads magazine. It was just fun to read the story again, with a bit of editing, but not much, which means I must have written it ok! If you get a chance to find it in your local Borders, see the above link for the front of the magazine, I promise that you will get a chuckle.

ButchHere is a picture of Butch, not really a camera guy, but ya gotta love him!

I will say Happy New Year to you all now, and have a little visit with you on Kimmies sidebar!

Enjoy, Christen

7 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday, last one of the year…..

  1. What a darling post, Christen. Loved the colorful photo of the mantel and had a laugh that you just recently decorated, since I am taking mine down in time for the new year.

    Bleubeard really liked Butch. He thought Butch’s expression was exactly like his when I point the camera at him. Cute photo and I will have to look for Threads. Never heard of it till now. I learn SO much on Tea Tuesday. Have a great one, and a safe and wonderful new year.

  2. Yayyy! The story is out! I don’t always get Threads anymore, so I’ll have to look for it! Glad you survived THE day. Some things are never easy,
    Happy New Year to you!

  3. Happy New Year Christen! I know what you mean about the un-cheer …. and I always feel so guilty about it! It helps to know that I am not alone! Your kitty looks so grouchy! but I think that’s a typical cat pose 🙂

    Congratulations on the publication of your story! you must be so pleased!

    Happy Tea today! xoxo, Kimmie

  4. Your post is Sweet and Funny and so real Christen…things can go south so easily…especially the more people you add to the mix…glad you survived LOL

    Congrats of your story being published…how exciting…I will be on the lookout for that issue….

    Butch looks like he knows a Christmas secret or two…such a handsome kitty kat

    Happiest of New Year’s to you and yours…Here’s to more fun and sharing in 2011!
    oxo
    p.s. Earl Grey is my all time fav

  5. great post Christen! ah families! lol! Butch is a curmudgeon! but great fodder for stories I bet and congrats on being published, no matter how many times they publish my work, I am always thrilled! enjoy it!! xo

Leave a Reply

