Tea on Tuesday: Old Houses

chamomile teaTea today is Chamomile, just sippin’ and enjoying the quiet morning. In the last few days we have seen clear autumn days, a little on the warm side, but more like a snuggly blanket. Crisp clear nights with a few stars and warm socks on the toes!

I have a tendency to think of old houses at this time of year. I have always loved antiques, wood especially, and the interesting nooks and crannies that old homes have. My grandparents had an old brownstone in Toronto, and it was fun to roam around and peek into the here and there places.

old houseThis is a drawing that I purchased many years ago at the Sawdust Festival in Laguna Beach, CA. I loved the architectural lines, the windows and the trimmings.

Hope that you are having a wonderful day, and that you too are enjoying something special. Please join Kimmie and the rest of the tea gang (on her side bar)!

Happy days, enjoy, Christen

10 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday: Old Houses

  1. Lovely reflective post Christen
    we used to have the nicest small Victorian house cookie jar … it looked a lot like your pretty print … precious mouse cup!
    Happy T to you
    oxo

  2. I used to work at the sawdust festival (not as an artist) …. What a fun event! I was thinking about old houses the other night as we made our rounds trick or treating …. Some houses are just naturally spooky! Not that this example you have here is …..

    Happy Tuesday! Kimmie

  3. I love old houses, too. This house I’m in now (2200 sq ft) is the smallest I’ve ever lived in. And of course, my style is Victorian, but they take SO much work unless someone has already remodeled. Love that drawing, though.

    I enjoyed the vignette you chose for your “autumn tea,” too. The leaves, colors, and cup all reinforce that the weather is turning cooler in the northern hemisphere. I just got back from voting and running errands, so now maybe I’ll have a cup of tea to take the edge off my caffeine buzz. Happy Tea Tuesday.

  4. I’d love to live in a creeky old house…too bad the rest of my family isn’t om the same page with me. I love old houses…they have stories to tell. Thanks for sharing this drawing today…

  5. Christen,

    I don’t know where my head has been for so long. You know I spotlight a blog each day on my blog and I try to spotlight one that is tea related OR one of the Tea Tuesday players. I was sure I had given the honor to everyone, but obviously not. I have been through every tea post and did a complete search on my blog. I don’t find you anywhere. For that I apologize. I want to make it up to you by featuring your blog as my blog pick tomorrow (Nov 9). Seems I’m always playing catch up on your blog and that’s just not me. Besides, I love your style, your vignettes, and your art.

Leave a Reply

