Tea on Tuesday, reflections

tea cup and sea urchinsTea today is Raspberry Black Tea, in my favorite green mug that lends a certain amount of calm to the experience.

I am in the process of re-re-re-reading (possibly a few more re-s) Cannery Row. John and I had a rocky start when I was a young child when in the second grade we read the Red Pony in class. As an adult though I have grown to appreciate his writing style, and of all his works Cannery Row is my favorite.

Doc would probably appreciate the beauty of these sea urchins, which I think are my favorite of all sea creatures. I have a bowl full of several different species, which as you can see are quite delicate and break when dropped. The broken pieces are placed in a different display, that looks as though it is a portion of beach with washed up bits and pieces of this and that.

broken and dried bits of stuffMy tea post of June 22, had a picture of our Christmas cactus in bloom. In this picture I have placed the dried bloom and a few pieces of sea urchin with a dried tomato vine and a piece of green onion skin.

I think that we can still find beauty in the the broken, the wilted and the imperfect. Perhaps though this is learned only after our youth is a memory to reflect upon while appreciating our selves today.

Happy Tea to all, please join Kimmie and the rest of our group for a cup of special thoughts…

Enjoy, Christen

11 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday, reflections

  1. Lovely post as always Christen, I am so very fond of sea urchins too … you have some I’ve never seen!
    Must share this quote that recently came my way with you:

    β€œWhen the Japanese mend broken objects, they fill the cracks with gold. They believe that when something’s suffered damage and has a history it becomes more beautiful.” ~Barbara Bloom

    Happy Sweet T to you!
    oxo

  2. ooo what a lovely stop today! and such a beautiful quote patty left you too!! i agree, there is beauty in the broken…and i love steinbeck too…i’m so glad i stopped by your place today, happy t tuesday, christen

  3. I have a large jar of sea urchins we collected in Antigua – one of the cats ( Billy ) knocked it off the shelf & some but not all broke. I like Patty’s quote.
    I’ve never read Cannery Row but I have seen the film.

  4. I’ve never seen a sea urchin, and was delighted when you showed some. I find beauty in the mundane, things others see beauty in. I’m glad you pointed that out today, because we often forget there is beauty in everything if we open our eyes and hearts to it. Thanks for this lovely post.

  5. Oh Christen – what lovely thoughts πŸ™‚
    I just sooo love how you’ve gathered together an assortment of this and that – broken and whole – fresh and dried – you have made such a beautiful arrangement – and I LOVE what you have to say about it all! I’m sure Doc would love it too πŸ™‚

    Happy T today! Hugs, Kimmie

  6. I so agree that there is beauty in the old, dried, withered and imperfect… In fact, I think that is where much of our beauty comes from… Lovely Tuesday Tea post…

  7. I love your sea urchins. I often think that an object that is broken is lovely in a different way. The shape is changed and new ideas come from that change. Sometimes what remains, especially when a flower fades, is just as lovely, seed heads, pods…
    Lovely post, Christen.

  8. Glad to see your posts again – though I’m over a week behind in checking. With nothing new since June, I had been concerned. Glad to know you were just too busy to blog! Good luck with your new classes, and enjoy the waning days of summer ~ it’s raining a bit here!

Leave a Reply

