Tea on Tuesday, old movies

tea on tuesday old moviesTea on Tuesday is coffee today, a little bit of a jolt now and again is a good thing, for me at least.

This week I spent a few quiet moments watching some old movies that I had recorded earlier in the summer. I often peruse AMC and Turner Classics for the oldies, the ones that we watched when I was a kid, and would have been considered old then!

I started with a movie that had been loosely based on a novel called Tish. The movie starred Marjorie Main and Zasu Pitts, and many other actors you would recognize. The book regaled us with the adventures of a strong-willed maiden aunt who is way beyond her time period, her skill level shall we say, and any reasoning that her nephew can exert.

From there I went on to The Canterville Ghost, starring Robert Young (very young), Margaret O’Brien (my dad had a crush on her all of his life), and Charles Laughton as the ghost. Set in England during WWII, Cuffy (Robert Young) is destined to save his long-lost ancestor, Sir Simon (the ghost) from living all of eternity in shame. This is accomplished and all is right with the world!

The last film was The Grand Hotel with the stellar cast of Greta Garbo, John Barrymore, Lionel Barrymore, Joan Crawford, and Wallace Beery. Every time I watch this I focus on a different actor’s performance, there is just so much going on that you can’t possibly absorb the entire movie in one viewing. And Joan Crawford had some killer gloves on in one scene that I wouldn’t mind owning!

wildflower seedsI will leave you with a few more photos of the flowers that were produced from the wildflower seeds we planted at the beginning of the summer.

wildflower seedsThis one is really sweet with the flower about 1/2″ in size.

wildflower seedsOur weather has turned a bit cool again, with some morning low clouds and a bit of rain the other day. But I am not complaining!

Off to do some work, please join Kimmie and the rest of the tea group!

Enjoy, happy day to you, Christen

PS: please take a look at Lizbeth’s adventures, she has missed many months of the Dress Up challenge, but she is back now!

5 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday, old movies

  1. Hello Hello Dear Christen ~ lovely stopping by for a cuppa whatever with you. I have been drinking a bit more java lately myself as well.
    You have reminded me of the sweetness of old movies…The Canterbury Ghost and more…how nice that you’ve made the time to enjoy some.
    Your flower photos are delightful and beginning from seed makes it extra special … each is so lovely!
    Happy T to you and yours!
    oxo

  2. Hi Christen! now you have me in the mood to check out TMC and see what might be playing today ….. I remember watching those movies when I was a kid too! i love your wildflower seed results …. I’ve never had good luck with those seed packets – they may enjoy drier weather than we have here 🙂

    Happy T Today and everyday!!! Kimmie

  3. That is one darling cup to go with a terrific tea tale. I’ve never heard of any of these old movies. I guess I should see what’s on some of those movie channels one of these days. All three sound like something I might enjoy.

    I love all those wildflowers. You are really lucky. You had so much better weather than I had this year. Everything in my yard is dead or dying due to extreme heat (still) and no moisture. Happy Tea Tuesday and thanks for getting me interested in old movies!

Leave a Reply

