“T” on Tuesday: Hummingbirds and Lace

tea cup“T” today is Celestial Seasonings “Peach Passion”; a lovely blend of orange peel, rosehips (my friend Tom said that his roses never had hips so I guess he won’t be making any tea!), hawthorn, chamomile, and natural peach flavor, yum! The charming little cup has a matching candy dish which I must admit to have filled with chocolate eggs! The background fabric is a vintage bark cloth table runner that is sitting on the dining room table.

Last week my guy had the week off, so we took a short trip up to visit our friends in Morongo Valley; a bit of rain; some rather cold (for us) weather; and Easter lunch with my mom. I guess the bonus to the week was an earth quake coming home from our visit! No damages and thank you again to those who wrote me with concerned emails. Luckily even old houses like ours have been earthquake retro-fitted, so no damage, just a few shaken up “kitty” nerves and minor topples and spills.

crochet purse and glovesI wanted to share an ensemble that I have gathered for a lecture that I give, called “Vintage Redressed“. I wrote an article for PieceWork Magazine on vintage embroidered purses (the photo on the cover shows a few of the bags in my collection), a few years back.  As I was researching information for the article, one thing lead to another and I collected a series of vintage garments and accessories, dating from 1900-1960, to accompany the handbags.

This pair of gloves (early 1900’s) are just exquisite and with much finer details than the reticule. The purse (1930) is not as finely stitched, but I just love the crochet balls dangling from it! The vintage powder holder has a lovely silk ribbon worked flower on the top, with fuchsia tails, it is not really part of the ensemble, it just sits in my workroom and looks pretty.

celluloid jewelryThe jewelry that I collected for this particular group is all celluloid. The necklace is composed of carved beads, with a self clasp. The clip-on earrings have a really lovely spiderweb design emanating from the center, with green sparkles decorating the spokes. The bangles have a lovely worn patina, the middle one has a lily of the valley design. I made the pin will a celluloid buckle as the base, adding in other discarded and broken celluloid and wire worked pieces.

I used to lament that I was born in the wrong era, I do so love all of these items and wish that I had been alive to wear them on a daily basis. Recently though I have come to believe that I was born in this era to admire and revitalize those pieces that have been discarded or forgotten, to give them new life, and continue to appreciate these splendors of days gone by.

Happy Tea to you all, thank you as always for stopping by. Please join Kimmie and the rest of the group for a cuppa!

enjoy- Christen

8 thoughts on ““T” on Tuesday: Hummingbirds and Lace

  1. Lovely post Christen and I am SO glad you were born in this era to share your treasures and knowledge with us!
    Happy T Tuesday to you and yours!
    oxo

  2. I’m glad everything is ok earthquake-wise ….. it’s been a shaky few months on this planet! I agree with Patty and am SO glad you were born in this era too – to share your wonderful collections and your knowledge about the pieces and their place in history. Glad you had some time off for Easter too 🙂

    Happy T today! Kimmie

  3. I had NO idea where you lived, so was glad to read you were OK. Your collection is amazing. I’m sure some dealers/collectors are salivating right now.

    When I saw the necklace draped over the tea cup, I thought it looked a bit like my rose hips. Lovely vignette and a great informative post.

  4. Christen what a wonderful post – I feel the same way sometimes – I’d like to have been Edwardian. My mum always says, “yes but if you were very poor those days were awful…”

    What are those beads carved from ? I have an Ivory bangle – obviously I do not support the Ivory trade – can’t think how we have this piece.

    • The beads were made from a mold, probably by carving wood in the shape of the bead, then the celluloid was poured into the mold to form the bead. Ivory bangles were pretty common in Africa, perhaps it came to your family from there?

Leave a Reply

