“T” on Tuesday: Life

digital image

Life is not all fun and games...

Today the theme for “T” on Tuesday is Life, chosen by Pat; for the rest of the list of participants see Kimmie’s place at Art in Red Wagons. I wasn’t sure what to do for this theme, but as I was sitting here drinking my coffee, I thought that I would start with a few quotes that seemed appropriate:

“Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.” – Charles R. Swindoll
“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”– Howard Thurman
“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.” – James Dean

Then I started thinking about events in my life, and I thought that I would tell you about one of “Life’s precious moments” that I shared with a friend.

Sandwiches

Sandwich making is a culinary art we learn very young.
In fact I am sure that each of us has deep convictions where this issue is concerned.
For instance I prefer toasted to plain and mayonnaise over butter, except where PBJ is concerned then only PBJ.
I like to cut my sandwich vertically from top to bottom leaving two rectangular pieces that fit easily into your hand.
I knew someone who cut his sandwich diagonally, a heretic according to my mother, but his mother told him it kept the flavor fresh, who am I to judge?
I have eaten tiny sandwiches at High Tea with the crusts cut off and huge torpedo sandwiches that seemed to be made from all crust.
But I have only eaten a three-piece sandwich once in my entire life.
My friend Betty invited me over for some girl talk and a “good old fashioned special treat”, her own recipe she smiled.
She made devilled ham salad sandwiches on rye with pickles on the side, a delicacy I thought for sure, but she didn’t stop there.
She cut the sandwich diagonally (I kept the heresy theory to myself), then one side in half again, a three-pieced sandwich novelty!
She explained that the meal lasted longer this way making room for good conversation with a good friend. She was right.
Special treat indeed, Bravo Betty, Bravo!

I wish for all of you a “friend for Life”, such as I had with my friend Betty. enjoy- Christen

10 thoughts on ““T” on Tuesday: Life

  1. Though I know it was not your intention your post brought tears to my eyes that welled up from the very heart. Your Betty memory is precious to behold.

    I must confess, dear Christen. I am a sandwich heretic! My sandwich must be cut diagonally.

    Your Tea Tuesday was a distinct pleasure. I hope your day will be, too.

    oxo Judy

  2. Very unique and creative, Christen. I am ooh-ing and aah-ing my way through the entries so far. They are all just superb. Thank you so much for participating and sharing your talent!

  3. Kristen this is wonderful! That stamp is precious and I love the way you’ve included all the text around the faces…and those colors look so good with the black!

Leave a Reply

