Friday’s Favorites: Measuring UP

rulers and measuring tapesFriday’s Favorites is all about the measuring devices we have. I just love rulers for some reason, I must because this is just a small representation of what I have around the studio. It is as if I am afraid I will not have one on hand when I need it!

The top 12″ ruler is actually triangular in shape, it belonged to my dad and is one of the coolest rulers I have. Every one of the six edges is set up for a specific measurement and divided into multiples of this measurement. This is a really great ruler for ribbon work because I use RW measurement, meaning every flower I make is multiplied by the width of the ribbon.

  • 1″ and 1/2″ marks; then below this it is broken down to 1/4″ and 1/8″
  • 16- meaning every 1/16″ is listed; then below this it is broken down to 3/32″ and 3/16″
  • 1-1/2″ and 3″ marks; then below this it is broken down to 3/8″ and 3/4″ marks

The second row shows a “Sewing Gauge” with each edge a different increment of the inch, it is great just to measure the ribbon. The second ruler is a little more unusual it is used to create pleats; it is a vintage ruler that I found in an old sewing kit at the thrift store. The top tape measure is metal and belonged to my dad, the lower fabric tape measure belonged to my grandmother.

The third row is my fabric tape measure that I used when I went to design school, and I still use it today.

The fourth row was my first wooden ruler, one that was purchased when I was in grade school. The metal ruler on top is a for hemming pants or skirts and had belonged to my mom.

The fifth row starts with a metal ruler that is for Jewelry Maker’s Scale. It gives sheet gauge measurements as well as ring shank and bracelet gauge guides. The ruler below this is my handy little 6″ ruler I keep in my sewing box by my work table, I love the big black circles that have the full inch measurements in them.

The ruler next to these two is really cool! It is full of all kinds of interesting information: it has a Circ-L-Scale; a Celsius and Fahrenheit conversion table; a decimal to inches conversion table: at the round end angled degree  measurements; one side with 1/8″ measurements and the other with 1/4″ and 1/2″ measurements; and the other side with metric measurements.

The fourth row is a wooden ruler with both inches and centimeters, it is a great help when I need to convert a measurement. The metal ruler on top is another one that is used for hemming pants or skirts, which I got with the tape measure when I was in design school.

The vertical measuring device is also used in dressmaking and was in the old sewing kit that I found at the thrift store.

Not shown is a button gauge guide with both the metric and Lines measurements of  buttons; a knitting needle gauge; and fabric width to yardage conversion chart. I also use my calculator to convert inch measurements into decimal form.

Probably the most humorous note of all is that I was really bad at math in school, I flunked Geometry twice; well actually the second time I took it the teacher took pity on me and gave me a D-, but I really did flunk it. It was not until I worked at a yardage store that I understood measurements, I learned so much with that practical application of math!

Math is still a mystery to me, something to be treated with care, and I never take measuring anything for granted!

I hope that your day “measures up” to your expectations! Christen

One thought on “Friday’s Favorites: Measuring UP

Leave a Reply

