“T”ea on Tuesday: Urban ARt

digital image

Today I am the hostess for Kimmie’s “T”ea on Tuesday, and I have picked Urban Art for our theme. I have taken pictures of buildings, cell phone towers, electrical boxes and even a few cars that I feel fit the description of this form of creative expression. All of these images were taken within a two-mile radius of my home.

urban art collageHere are a few cell phone towers and electrical boxes from around town, each side is usually different. The “lady” in the middle is a bit scary, I don’t want to meet her in person!

urban art collage

Imagine

urban art collageThese images are painted along the building below. This is a lighting and stage paint manufacturer with a small costume design firm on the end.

urban art collage

I love to get stuck at the light because I can take a closer look at this incredible building!

urban art collageLove the cars, in fact the VW bus was a high point in my day when I worked for an extremely demanding boss. John overlooks a head shop and liquor store, and presumably the patrons.

urban art

These images overlook a large patch of weeds next to a busy road, they look interested….

urban art collageThese are from two fabulous round buildings, that are entirely painted with colorful images. The first is a cultural arts building, and right next to it is the World Beat Center where you can take dance lessons. Usually there is an activity going on every weekend, and when you drive by you see lots of happy people.

urban art collageThis festive brick wall just makes your day! It leads up to a group of small bungalows.

urban art collageThis is a group of cell towers and mechanical boxes (for what use I have no idea). Most of the boxes around town are decorated, I believe that the city contracted the local college to have art students choose a box and paint it. I don’t know if this is true, but it makes a good story. The middle one has the name painted on it of the section of town that I live in.

urban art

I will leave you with this last image, if I didn’t tell you this was a cell phone tower would you have thought that I had taken this in a museum?

Thank you so much for stopping by. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has done for this theme, why don’t you take a peek too with:

Next week the “T”ea party will be hosted by Pat.
10 thoughts on ““T”ea on Tuesday: Urban ARt

  1. ooo I can see how you came upon the “Urban Art” theme Christen, what a lot of wonderful and colorful things you have in your environs!
    Really fabulous, thanks for the tour!
    Also glad to see the tea ladies all listed on your post. I fear Kimmie may still be having computer issues … let’s hope she’s back and running soon.
    Happy T Tuesday to you!
    oxo

  2. No wonder you chose this theme you just had too and I am soo pleased u did, it must be wonderful living with all that ART on your doorstep so to speak.

    Thanks for an insight into your life.

    chriss x

  3. thank you so much Christen, this must have taken you ages to do.
    The last is incredible and more to my taste but I do admire the work in all of them.
    Yes thanks for the T Ladies list too xx

  4. Loved viewing your selection of art near your home. The VW sure brought back memories. This is proving to be a most interesting theme. 🙂

    Happy T day. I’ll have my tea post up soon.

    oxo

  5. wow! no wonder this was your theme this week! You’ve got in in spades! Where I live, it gets painted over the very next day. Where you live it looks like a genuine and valid form of self-expression! Amazing! Thanks for sharing! Happy “t” today! hugs, Kimmie

  6. This is my first time to visit your blog. Wow, such lovely art, such great photos, and such wonderful words, all wrapped up in one package. The woman in the first picture is a bit scary to me, too, but the bus had me laughing and laughing.

  7. WOWWW Christen, i envy you with all this wonderful creativity going on around you. The tower art is incredible isn’t it?
    Well I’m hanging my head in shame and wish I’d waited to see what was coming up before I posted my load of ***!!!! Chriss is apparently still laughing at it 😦

Leave a Reply

