Tea on Tuesday: Water…

vintage tea cup

“T”ea on Tuesday, will be a little different as Kimmie has asked if we would like take turns as a hostess providing a theme for the week. This week our hostess is Patty and she has chosen WATER for our theme. Today I am drinking TAZO Awake – Black Tea- Noir.

drawing of wavesThis is a favorite painting of mine,  “Great Wave off of Kanagawa” by Japanese artist Katsushika Hokusai. I have always lived by a body of water, for most of my life it has been the Pacific Ocean, but as a kid our summer’s were spent at our cabin on Chandos Lake, Apsley, Ontario, Canada. We swam, we canoe”d”, we rowed the row-boat, and sat in the speed boat with the spray on our face. As a young adult I worked on Catalina Island, where we swam in the ocean, sailed in small boats and even kayak”ed” once, amongst a pod of whales (little scary).

vintage embroidered bagThis is a close-up view of the vintage embroidered bag from above. The design of the bag is actually woven, but as it is old has frayed a bit. A previous owner has tried to recover the bag to its original glory by adding in free-form embroidery and beads of glass and coral. Pretty cool, I love the frame which is encrusted with green glass cabs.

treasure trove of shells and frogsI have collected a few of my favorite things found in or on water. All of the real shells were purchased at a local shop in Ocean Beach, CA. The old tin box had belonged to my grandfather, and I included it cause my cousin Richard had served in the US Navy. The metal leaf bowl was a gift from Kevin’s brother and I have filled it with the smaller pieces of my hubby’s “Frog” collection. Finally the beautiful orange starfish was made from craft felt, and lavishly embroidered by a friend.

lily pond and botanical buildingOn Sunday my husband Kevin, daughter Gwen and I took a walk over to Balboa Park, so that I could get a picture of our favorite lily pond. As a young couple, with no money (this has not changed much!), we would bring Gwen down and walk around the Park. We still enjoy the walk, and I think that this is our favorite spot.

lily pondThis is a close-up view of the lily boxes, in the spring and summer the pond is full of lily pads and flowers.

carpThese are a few of the carp that get to swim in the pond all year long. They are quite friendly and actually swim up to people on the side of the pond, that is how I got such a good picture of them! This day they even had a large dog barking at them who wanted to come and play, they didn’t even flap a fin!

picture of sail boatsI will leave you with this special painting that my great, great grandfather Mitchel painted for my grandfather. I will let you imagine how old it is….

Happy T to you, please join us over at is Patty’s won’t you?

6 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday: Water…

  1. WOW Christen where to begin!
    Love your water treasures and shared memories very much!
    That felted starfish is fantastic, I cannot imagine what it’s like in person!!!
    Lovely eye candy as always, so glad I came by for T 🙂
    oxo

  2. There is so much inspiration with water! You are lucky to live so close to the Pacific (and in a warm climate too). Our version of the Pacific up here is really quite cold – full wetsuit and you can still get hypothermia! Love your displays of your collections – the cigarette tin is my favorite 🙂
    Hugs and Happy T today! Kimmie

  3. That bag is gorgeous! I to have live near the water (Gulf of Mexico) all my life. Even now, I’m less that half a mile from it… I once had a little apartment on a canal off the Gulf… I loved it! Your post is lovely!

  4. I’m impressed with the bag, too! You have some of the most unique stuff. The fish pitcher is enchanting…

    The theme idea was a good one. It should be great fun.

    Thank you for so kind comment about my baby quilts. You are the sweetest.

    Happy tea day.
    oxo Judy

Leave a Reply

