Tea on Tuesday: What is black and white and red all over?

what is black and white and red all over

What is black and white and red all over?

Tea on Tuesday of course! Here Mona and I are with Nell (porcelain head) and Oscar (the frog)…. My family and I are starting the New Year over, one day at a time. The holidays were far from that, with many trips to the doctor, the urgent care and finally ringing in the New Year (12am) in the Emergency Room with my mom… which was an interesting event. The doctors finally deduced that she was dehydrated from a water pill she had taken a week or so prior to this. After a few IV’s, quite a few tests (which could not explain the mystery pain), she was determined to be free to leave and come home on the 3rd with instructions to drink more water!

Life has settled somewhat, but is far from being light, free or joyful, so I am trying to work with the positives to keep the spirit in me strong! I have decided to work with color themes this year for my Tea on Tuesday posts. I intend (I use this as a disclaimer in case I change my mind) to work with one color a month, and add in additional colors to compliment the main color. This month is RED, cause it is my husband’s favorite color, it looks great on the lips, it is happy, it denotes strong emotions, and frankly Mona and I had no other ideas this morning! By the way we are enjoying a lovely cup of Earl Grey!

black and white jewelry

Black and White Jewelry

This is a pretty set of black and white jewelry that I designed to wear with one of my vintage ensembles that is included in my “Vintage Redressed” lecture. The pendant is a vintage porcelain piece that was given to me by a friend of the family; I have gathered vintage Japanese, French and Czech glass beads for the necklace strand that it is attached to. The bracelet is one of my button patterns, Jazz; all of the buttons are vintage Czech glass from the 1940’s. The earrings were a treasure from my husband’s grandmother. The button purse is also a pattern of mine, “Button Flashbacks”.

what is black and white and red all over

What is black and white and red all over?

The traditional answer is a newspaper… but I will leave the joke open for you to interpret. Please join the other tea time group over at Kimmie’s place Art in Red Wagons. Happy New Year to you, and here’s to making every day count! Christen

6 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday: What is black and white and red all over?

  1. very sorry you all have been dealing with health issues, hoping your mom is doing much much better now!

    you and Mona came up with a fabulous tea post and pics! I was at a loss…drifting here

    take care Christen … all the best to you and yours in this new year!
    oxo

  2. I’m glad your mom is going to be ok ….. it sounds like a harrowing experience!
    I love your idea of a color themed month …. you have such cool trinkets – I love the porcelain doll head!
    Thank you Christen for your faithful participation in the Tea on Tuesday thing – I know life gets hectic sometimes 🙂
    Happy T today!
    XOXO Kimmie

  3. I’m so sorry your holidays were full of stress and worry, Christen. I’m happy that your mom is on the mend. I hope that continues and that you take care of yourself as well as your mom. I love your Tea on Tuesdays post. Black and white with any bright color is a favorite of mine, but with red the combination just sings! And the black and white jewelry is too cool!
    Best wishes that your New Year continues to improve.
    Maryanne

  4. I found myself sporting a big “say cheesey” grin with my first glimpse of your tea on Tuesday party of the week.

    Love the red and black…

    Sharing the happy relief your mom is feeling better. I hope she continues to get stronger. Moms are so precious.

    Hoping your new year is filled with blessings.

    oxo

  5. Pingback: WINTER WHITE T « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Leave a Reply

