Tea on Tuesday: November’s End

 

vintage tea cup

November's Chrysanthemums

 

This is the last tea for November, and I couldn’t let the month pass by without using my November cup. The set is actually composed of a vintage saucer and newer cup made by Royal Albert,  England. These are from the flowers of the month series. Such a pretty set… and it looks so pretty with the antique glass plate in the background.

Today I have a few guests, Lacey, my Angelic Angel with her very own rose shaped tea-cup, and a dear fairy that was handmade by a lady that I met in the doll club that I had belonged to many years ago. I also included three very cool glass bubble gum pink buttons, I have had these for so long, not sure if I will ever find a project that is perfect enough for them, so they just sit in a jar in the sewing room. The box in the background is covered with artistic paper, lace and lots of ribbon worked flowers, my favorite.

I am sure that all of you are preparing for the three F’s: Family, Friends and the Feast, so I will wish you all a lovely holiday and include a recipe that I make for this time of year. Enjoy, eat as much as you want, and take care my friends, Christen

Prairie Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 can 16 oz. canned pumpkin (without the cinnamon)
  • 16 oz. of chicken stock
  • 1 large sweet onion
  • 1 cup wild rice (or Bony’s rice mixture)
  • 2 links Italian sausage (or how about some leftover turkey)
  • 1 small can of green chilli peppers
  • ¾ cup light cream

Other stuff

  • Butter, Olive oil
  • White flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste; essence of Emeral
  • Cooking Sherry
  • Shredded Cheddar and Monterey Jack

Let’s get started:

  1. Put the rice in a pot to cook, (about 45 minutes).

While this is cooking:

  1. In a big pot, knead together 1-tablespoon butter, 1-teaspoon Season of Emeral and 1-tablespoon flour.
  2. Add to the pot: the pumpkin, the chicken stock,  and the chili peppers. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir. Place the pot on medium heat; do not bring to a boil.

While this is warming.

  1. Cut the onion into small pieces. Sauté the onion in sherry, butter and olive oil, season to taste. Add to the in pot.
  2. Cook the Italian sausage, drain, add to the pot: or add in chopped pieces of cooked turkey
  3. When the rice is done, add this to the pot.  Add ¾ cup of light cream to thicken the soup. Heat until all of the ingredients are warm.
  4. Serve the soup with a sprinkle of cheese on top.

This soup tastes great with spinach quesadillas or perhaps some warm homemade carrot/zucchini bread.

Eat and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday: November’s End

  1. beautiful chrysanthemums! Your dolls are so sweet too 🙂
    I’m printing out your recipe – it looks perfectly scrumptious! I’m getting well stocked on pumpkin ….. I’ve heard there will be a shortage 😦

    Happy T! and have a beautiful Thanksgiving!

  2. Such a beautiful post! I can’t believe it’s Thanksgiving already! I love your November cup, and those buttons are fabulous. I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving, Christen. One of the things I’m thankful for this year is that I’ve discovered you and your beautiful blog.
    Maryanne

Leave a Reply

