All the World is a Stage: ABAA challenge

mixed media stage

Welcome to the International Stage

All the world is a stage, and over  Rosie and Linda’s Awfully Big Art Adventure this month proves it! There are wonderful entries of stages and masks, take a look and be amazed!

dolls

The International Troop

I have been collecting dolls for my entire life, these are few of the International dolls that I have collected. I thought that they made an interesting troupe of characters. I can’t wait to write a play or two and include these characters.

http://bigartadventure.blogspot.com/2009/10/and-your-next-challenge-is.html

old embossed letter box

The stage is an old letter box that I found at a thrift store. I decorated it with acrylic paints and metallic paints on the outside, adding a paper mask that was also painted. The inside is covered in artist’s paper and ribbon.

The actors are all International dolls, except for Ethel Merman, who is playing Carmen Miranda and the blushing fairy (perhaps Gypsy Rose Lee’s muse?).

The stage lights are old bulbs glued to bottle caps and covered in artist paper, in fact most of the dolls are stuck into bottle caps so that they could stand upright.

stage3

stage

The Thai dolls were actually pens, I removed the insides, the Indian man was an ornament; the Guatemalan family were ornaments; the Hmong lady is an ornament and is holding a Russian stacking doll family and an African lady; the Japanese couple are also ornaments.

This was a fun challenge, and I mean challenge to get the box just right and the actors to behave! Artists I tell you!

Enjoy what you do, what is the point if you don’t? Christen

2 thoughts on “All the World is a Stage: ABAA challenge

  1. Oh I LOVE it! You’ve clearly had a lot of fun, and it looks to me like you’ve licked your cast into shape! I particularly like the cover of the book, and thanks so much for joining in the challenge.

  2. This is brilliant Christen…you’ve really made me smile! The lady on the right looks like she knows how to enjoy herself (is she the Hmong lady?)
    You have a wonderful collection of dolls ….I’m sure you’ll continue to use them in your art.
    Linda xx
    ABAA

Leave a Reply

