Tea on Tuesday: Apples and Hearts

Apples and Hearts

Apples and Hearts

Red and yellow and retro is my theme today. I just love this little tea pot, just enough for a few cups, and not a drop is wasted! I am drinking from my Johnson Brothers “Chintz” cup today, it seems also to be a favorite. The wonderful crochet heart pincushion was found at a thrift store, and the marvelous “art heart” was a gift from our daughter. teacan

The tea that I chose for today comes from this lovely set that I found at Cost Plus. I chose the Raspberry Earl Gray and it is delish! My friend can recommend the Ambrosia Plum, which she tried the other day. The other choices are Egyptian Mint and Italian Chamomile. The blend of scents that come from all of the tea bags is enchanting!

I can’t wait for all of the bags to be used so I can have the tin for the craft room. (Truthfully knowing me, I will probably not wait at all!)

group1

Perky Pincushions

Last week I spent a few hours here and there making some pincushions for my Etsy store.

The first group on the blue plate were cut from an old quilt from the “4o’s which was made from feed sacks and cotton floral prints.  I call these Perky Pincushions.

These were so much fun to make, and the fabrics are just too cute! I stitched sections with pearl cotton and added a button to the top. The bottom is stabilized with a bit of cardboard and covered with felt.

These are a good size, about 3″ wide and 1-1/2″ tall. I have stuck mine full of needles and I love it!

Bon Bons

Bon Bons

The second set of pincushions were made from rayon velvet ribbon adorned with silk ribbon flowers and leaves. I call these Bon Bons.

I have made these for the store for many years, but they always seem to be a favorite. They look good enough to eat on this dainty china plate.

The rayon velvet ribbon is so rich, and really shows off the lucious colors of the Hanah silk so nicely. These are small pincushions, just enough for a few needles. These are about 1-5/8″round by 1-1/2″ tall.

I hope that all is well with you and that you are enjoying your day. Please join Kimmie and the rest of the ladies for Tea, you are most welcome!

Christen

6 thoughts on “Tea on Tuesday: Apples and Hearts

  1. I Love stopping by for tea with you Christen! You do the nicest vignettes and themes!
    Your pin cushions are gorgeous … I like each for its own specialness, I bet the velvet ones are yummy to hold, velvet is so tactile!
    Happy T Tuesday oxo

  2. What a pretty chintz teacup 🙂
    I love your pincushions too! Especially the ones made from vintage fabrics … what do you stuff your pincushions with? They’re all so cute!

    Happy T 2Day!

  3. Love this post, Christen. The tea sounds yummy and the vignette is beautiful. I love your pincushions, especially the velvet bonbons. Perfect name for them.
    Maryanne

Leave a Reply

