You Go Girl: MMM Pink Challenge

YOU GO GIRL

YOU GO GIRL

The challenge over at Mixed Media Monday is to use pink in your work, in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

I am sure that all of us in one way or another has been affected by this disease, I in fact have had three people in my family that have been diagnosed with this cancer. I myselft am celebrating my eight year alive this month. My mother-in-law was diagnosed and treated several years ago, and is now healthy and happy. My aunt Ellen was not as fortunate as the two of us, and she died at the age of 63 a few weeks after her surgery.

Who lives and who dies is not something that I have answers for. I do however have a few insights…

I know that anyone and everyone who has been touched by this disease will tell you how important it is to check monthly, to have regular DR. exams and mammograms and NOT TO IGNORE something that is unusual.

I know that the most important thing that you can do for someone going through the surgery and following treatments is to LOVE unconditionally, be strong, be there, and give them that YOU GO GIRL attitude that my husband and daughter gave me everyday even though this was as hard for them to go through as it was for me.

I know how important your attitude is in getting healthy again and how it will affect your future outlook.

I have love and encouragement for those of you who are affected by a loved one’s struggle.  I have  love and encouragement for those of you that are currently going through treatment.

And I say to all of you that are wearing a wig, feeling sick to your tummy, have lost all of your hair, or just are feeling crummy: YOU GO GIRL you are alive and we are all the better for it!

8 thoughts on “You Go Girl: MMM Pink Challenge

    • Thank you ladies, this was actually quite relaxing to make. The machine embroidery is easier to do than it looks, and I made the flowers in an afternoon watching an NCIS marathon. Christen

Leave a Reply

