California Dreamin’: MMM challenge

All the leaves are brown and the sky is gray

All the leaves are brown and the sky is gray...

The challenge this week at Mixed Media Monday was to chose a favorite song. Please stop by and check out the talented entries, you will always be happy that you did.

Chose a song, tough assignment, one song. I spent most of the week listening to the soundtrack of my life. I thought of favorite songs, “Night and Day”- Cole Porter, “After the Gold Rush”- Neil Young, “Scarborough Fair”- Paul Simon, “Suite Judy Blue Eyes”- Crosby, Stills and Nash, the list goes on……

Then I thought of songs that I could actually illustrate and bring meaning to with images that I had, and create what the meaning of the song meant to me. “California Dreamin’” came to mind from the Mama’s and the Papa’s. It was a song that was sung to me by someone special, someone I never told was special to me, someone that will never know how special he was.

This is for you Mark.

All the leaves are brown
And the sky is gray
I’ve been for a walk
On a winter’s day

I’d be safe and warm
If I was in L.A.
California dreamin’
On such a winter’s day

Stopped into a church
I passed along the way
Oh, I got down on my knees
And I pretend to pray

You know the preacher likes the cold
He knows I’m gonna stay
California dreamin’
On such a winter’s day

All the leaves are brown
And the sky is gray
I’ve been for a walk
On a winter’s day

If I didnt tell her
I could leave today
California dreamin’
On such a winter’s day

(California dreamin’)
On such a winter’s day
(California dreamin’)
On such a winter’s day

Don’t wait to tell those who have touched your lives that they are special. You may have lost the opportunity.  Christen

16 thoughts on “California Dreamin’: MMM challenge

  1. I love your quote at the bottom and you are right about that. I’m just realizing that now since I turned 35 just the other day. I did actually email an old friend..I told them I have been thinking of them ..I appreciate the memories that person has given me..

  2. Lovely piece, and what you’re saying is sooo true!! I’ve had a letter to my dear uncle and aunt lying around waiting for me to send it to them to tell them how much they meant to me when I was a child 🙂 I’ll mail it today!! Thanks for the wonderful reminder and thanks for sharing!!

    Linda

  3. Beautiful thought and beautiful entry. The comments make me think of a poem I wrote once upon a long time ago:
    “We live day by day always thinking
    There’ll be time to say things on the morrow
    But death takes away all those chances
    And we’re left full of words in our sorrow.”
    Thanks for reminding me!

  4. Christen its GORGEOUS!! I don’t think we’ve had a fabric piece quite like it on ABAA before! I love how you’ve done the door, and the stones, in fact everything about it – especially the key it hangs from. Fabulous work and glad you could take part in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

  5. Brilliant song choice Christen. I agree there are so many wonderful tunes throughout our lives! Love what you created with that great song as inspiration!

    oxo ~*~ Patty

Leave a Reply

