No Time Like the Present- Mixed Media Monday challenge

No Time Like the Present

No Time Like the Present

This is my entry for Mixed Media Monday challenge “Play”. I really didn’t have the “time” this week to create something, or “play” much at all…. but it was an inviting theme that I wanted to try. This is a digital image that I created with a clock face, and an embroidery montage.

I took an Antique French clock face by barefootliam-stock that I found while searching for ideas for another project. It is really quite beautiful in itself, but the numbers were not all there or faded so I thought to knock out the background then add in my own numbers.

shabby vest

shabby vest

Then I decided that I didn’t just want to add a background with a flat color so I added a background that I had created from images of a vest that I had recycled with tons of embroidery that I had stitched a few months ago. I took several close-up pictures, then cropped them and arranged them into a montage, and just saved it for the right time.

I took a portion of this montage and used it for the background here. I used the eraser tool to knock out the numbers and as the image underneath started to appear I wanted to knock out more! I knocked out (or drew) informal lines and then knocked out dots all around. This was quite fun when it doesn’t have to be perfect!

I didn’t add numbers in after all because this piece is a representation of what you can do with a little time and imagination. And so I did get to “Play”, and it was great fun! Thank you again for another great challenge Diane!

Enjoy the day, and play while you can! Christen

9 thoughts on “No Time Like the Present- Mixed Media Monday challenge

  1. What a fantastic piece, Christen. The vest in the background is a stroke of genius. I love the way you’ve altered the clock. It looks Aztec to me. Beautiful entry.

Leave a Reply

