Summertime and the Living is easy- Mixed Media Monday Challenge

Summeritme and the Living is Easy

Summeritme and the Living is Easy

This is my entry for this weeks Mixed Media Monday’s Challenge. The challenge this week was to make something with beads, that included beads or just BEADS. I was excited because this is certainly right up my ally and I thoroughly enjoyed the project!

I didn’t have to stitch anything new here but assemble pieces and parts, and bead-doodles that I had lying around from this project and that project. The base of the hanging is made from an 18 gauge florist wire wrapped in batting and silk ribbon. I then wire wrapped three small gourds dyed with shoe leather by a friend in place with Artistic Wire.

The dragonfly is made with a dentalium shell, beaded with size 15 seed beads, and delica beads for the wings. The vines of leaves were stitched with size 11 seed beads, then I attached beaded berries made from size 11 seed beads to each leaf. The pea pods (to the right and down) are made from delica beads filled with fresh water pearl “peas”. The fuchsias dangling by the dragonfly tail are made from delica beads and size 15 seed beads. Further embellishment comes from coin pearls and glass leaves.

Summer Time and the Living is Easy

Sipping my wine as I write this, and enjoying the summer afternoon.

Live well and enjoy what you do! Christen

PS: This was my first image, but I thought that the above one was a little more put together.

4 thoughts on “Summertime and the Living is easy- Mixed Media Monday Challenge

    • Thanks Diane, this challenge gave me the opportunity to use some components that I had been saving for just the right project. Another wonderful challenge!

Leave a Reply

