Measuring Up- Mixed Media Monday “Numbers” Challege

Measuring Up

Measuring Up

This is my entry for the “Numbers” challenge sponsored by Mixed Media Monday. A challenge is presented once a week on Monday. There are quite a few entries already, and worth the time to take a mouse click over for a browse.

Hmmmmm…. Measuring Up can mean quite a few things. At 52 (which coincidentally seemed to be the theme for the numbers that happened to appear here), it still means gauging my accomplishments, successes and triumphs by the standards set by my parents and grandparents so long ago.

Earrings

Earrings

Numbers can also be viewed differently by the way you present them, such as “I HAVE 5 weeds!”, or “I only have five weeds…”; vice versa: “I only have five roses…” or “I HAVE 5 roses!”… you get the point.

Here is a close-up of the earrings that I made for the ensemble. The dog tags belonged to my mom’s dog when she was growing up (notice the first two #’s: 52). My dad won the medal in a model airplane contest (notice the last two #’s of the year: 52) for one of his own designs.

Bracelet

Bracelet

Here is the bracelet of the ensemble. I started with a very well loved, and quite grungy tape measure that I got at the thrift store along with the brown grosgrain ribbons and a few of the buttons. Notice the end of the bracelet, there is #52 again. The small button at the left in the middle has my mom’s initials on it. When I found it I thought must save this for just the right project, I think that I did!

Typewriter Keys

Typewriter Keys

The necklace was actually made a few months ago, but I had nothing else to wear with it until I made the bracelet yesterday and the earrings today!

The typewriter keys are actually beads that have been strung on rayon cord and knotted in between each bead. Again, notice the end of the necklace you guessed it 52!

Other images are my dad’s actual dog tags from WWII, coins (from my grandpa) that add up to 52, a wooden nickel I got a Knot’s Berry Farm as a kid and more buttons.

So the number 52 can be how much money you have by the numbers on your coins, how wide you are by the inches on the tape measure, or the accumulation of years that equal your life, for me it is the latter.

Glad to be here, looking forward to making something that celebrates my 152 year…. Enjoy the time that you have! Be happy creating or be happy creatively! enjoy- Christen

15 thoughts on “Measuring Up- Mixed Media Monday “Numbers” Challege

Leave a Reply

