Gail’s Garden- wall hanging with ribbon work and silk ribbon embroidery

Gail's Garden- wall hanging by Christen Brown

Gail's Garden- wall hanging by Christen Brown

This is a close-up view of a new wall hanging that I just finished on Saturday, (closer views of the flowers.) My friend Gail made me a lovely crocheted scarf with flowers and beads, and I made her this wall hanging in trade.

The wall hanging has ribbon worked flowers and leaves made from a variety of ribbons that I sell in my store including:

  • silk bias
  • vintage grosgrain
  • satin
  • ombre
  • picot edged ombre
  • novelty

The crazy pieced base is stitched with both traditional and silk ribbon embroidery stitches. I used 4mm and 7mm silk ribbon, #5 and #8 pearl cotton, and Wildflower threads. I hand dyed some of the ribbons and threads to match the colors of the fabric.

Many of the flowers and leaves I have developed for a book that I would someday like to publish. Until that day I plant them in my gardens whether it be on a garment, purse, or other accessory. I hope that you find pleasure in your pursuits, as I do!

Happy Stitching! Christen

Leave a Reply

